Xbox One: I officially have to get one now.

Before I even start:

1. Don’t even tell me that the PS4 is a better option. Why? Because my girlfriend and I have decided that we want the One. You can give me all the input you want but honestly this works for us. Key words right there. It is something that would be the best fit for our life.

2. I don’t care if other people thinks it’s dumb or amazing. This is about why it perfect for MY life and no one else. Basically I’m telling you why I’m personally excited. I am open to discussion though! Just don’t go on the attack 😀

3. There really isn’t anything else. I just don’t want people to jump in my boat and tell me how to sail when they are just going to hop back out of it.

The reason why we want to get it? Backwards compatibility. Why is that such a deal maker for us? Well….because I have a GIANT library of games. Once upon a time I was a single gamer chick with a lot of disposal income. What else would I spend my money on?? No seriously…? I’m not your typical girl. Trying to spend my last penny on cloths, parties, the newest and greatest fad. Ugh, it’s frustrating to even think like that.

Here is an example of some of my gaming love. I realize that they aren’t all going to work right away but do you see the potential? I certainly do!

When I say I had a lot of disposal income….I wasn’t kidding. Only one of those I didn’t pay for.

Now you can get an idea of how invested I was in the Xbox 360. I’m even more invested in Gears of War but that is a discussion for another time. Back to the backwards compatibility. I know that there will be bugs. I’m aware that some of the old hardware won’t work. In fact I don’t expect it to be perfected until a year or maybe two after it’s released. But I want you to step into my shoes for a minute and maybe you can understand why I’m excited about this so much; even with the imperfections. Don’t be afraid my shoes aren’t smelly and they are pretty awesome.

View this post on Instagram

My shoes are cooler than your shoes 🙂

A post shared by Tea Szukala (@teasama_v3.0) on

 

I’m at a point in my life now where I actually have to be an adult. I have to provide for myself and my future wife. I also have to pay for school so that I can get my bachelors degree. It doesn’t leave a lot of room in my budget for games right now let alone a whole new system. Which is completely fine with me. We have to work hard to get to where we want in life.

A little hint into what I’m getting my degree in.

Now because of this we don’t have cable. Why would we get cable when we have internet and access to Netflix? Saves us money and gives my Xbox another use besides just playing games. Now because of this backwards compatibility we don’t have to worry about hooking up two systems to our TV right away. Of course right now the list is tiny and we will have to have both systems hooked up at first but just think of the implications of what they are trying to accomplish. Maybe one day I will be able to run off of just one Xbox.

Another thing that I like about this is that you can play with people who are playing on the 360. Super helpful since a lot of my friends are also poor college students. So even if it still takes me a minute to get the One I still have the option of playing games with my friends still. It drives me nuts when a good handful of my friends are online and most of them are on the One. Not only am I jealous but I’m sad because I can’t even jump into a chat with them. I’ve made some of the best of friends off of Xbox Live! In fact I met H422y G N4D5 playing Gears of War 2. It is also especially important because I also recently moved across the country and finding gamer friends is rough in the real world. They are basically holding the door open for me and inviting me in with milk and cookies!

I’m excited. I’m optimistic. Microsoft can do great things with this, IF they manage to do it right. Smart move Microsoft, now all you have to do is deliver.

 

 

Leave a comment